Back in my twenties I wrote a bucket list when I had a cancer scare, and made a promise to myself that if I survived I would find a way to do these things. It took a while to save up, but I did manage to do most of the things on the list; I rode on an elephant (I don’t need to do that again, and now I see that it’s cruel), I’ve walked on the slopes of Mount Everest, I lived in Florence for a while to see first hand what I had been studying all these years, I’ve island hopped in Thailand, and backpacked around Asia by myself. Among the things I didn’t achieve was settling down with a decent blonde haired 6-foot chap who was a millionaire, but maybe that was a little unrealistic at the time.

Sometimes we need these lists to inspire us, and to remind of us of what we are looking for. I felt it was time to update my list, and make it practical, yet still inspirationally awesome in that some may shake their heads at me and scoff, but once you’ve faced death, you realize it really doesn’t matter what anyone else thinks.

  1. Build or find a beach house/hut where I can see the sunrise and sunset each day, and where I can write in peace and quiet while inhaling fresh air. Ideally this house will have a freestanding bathtub overlooking the ocean, where I can begin and end each day. I’m thinking somewhere on the West Coast, only because the East Coast has such bitter winters, or maybe an island I have yet to discover.
  2. To reach Mount Everest Base Camp (5,364 metres or17,598 ft). This is a possibility as I have a friend who is a Nepalese Guide with his own trekking company now, and so it’s more about finances and finding the right time to go (https://www.facebook.com/happyharitrek/) I’ve made it to Tengboche (3,867 metres or 12,687 ft) and a little higher, but at the time the weather was too bad for us to continue and we were stranded in Lukla for several days. Also I need to get fit again for such a feat, both mentally and physically. In a way it’s unfinished business, but last time I wasn’t fully prepared, and I hope the next time I am on Everest I will be.
  3. Travel on the TransSiberian Railway; there are several routes you can take, but I would like to share the unique journey with someone special. However, if that doesn’t happen I hope to find a good friend who can rough it enough to enjoy such a journey. I have Russian blood (Siberian) going back several generations, so it will be interesting if I feel anything special once I get there.
  4. To open a spiritual/writers retreat with it’s own organic café making homemade cakes, pies, and soups. I would like it near the ocean, but close enough to a city or town so that food could be donated to the homeless, and that some of them could make a fresh start at the retreat if it suited both parties. I already have a name for the retreat, but it is what I would like to do, in addition to my writing. It would encompass several of the things that are important to me; helping the homeless, having an unconditional space to find yourself, a place for me to experiment with my baking and cooking skills, and a haven for writers and artists to be creative.
  5. Have my books published by a leading publishing house. I have several works in progress, and I would like them to be published by a publisher. It will take time and work (besides finishing the manuscripts, and polishing them) and in the meantime I have to make ends meet somehow. Ever since I was a child, writing books is all that I wanted to do, but I made a mistake; I read advice and listened to others for a couple of decades saying that you have to work and write on the side. That doesn’t work for everyone, especially not in the line of work I was in where I was on shifts, and also on 24 hour call at times. There were days I would work for 14-16 hours, and start at 4 a.m., so it was impossible to write when you are tired and exhausted. I have faith; I have non-fiction and fiction manuscripts, all with different pen names. It’s fulfilling writing and researching—I just hope others feel the same, and that I can live off my writing.

I’ll probably add to this list, but I’ve kept it short because I want the goals to be achievable, and not just things to tick off a list. These are things I am passionate about and have reasons for my wanting to do them. Ultimately we are free to do what we want, but there are at times things that stop us; finances, responsibility to others, health, and confidence. It’s also not a matter of doing things quickly—I want to enjoy the experiences and do them properly, because there is no rush. This is for me and no one else. Part of the whole thing is the excitement and planning, and even having these ideas now, gives me something to aim for and to look forward to.

Leave a Reply

