There are some stores, even though they have transatlantic counterparts where the original American versions are still so much better, for choice and price. Online shopping and international shipping can bridge that gap in times of desperation, but sometimes the real thing matters, and here’s why…

  1. Old Navy. While most Americans see this a budget version of The Gap and a place to get basics, I love this store for just that—quality basics at a reasonable price. One of my favorite pairs of black leggings/pants was found in an outlet store and they have served me so well, I daren’t wear them, as I can’t find another pair. There is no Old Navy as yet in the UK, but I am sure they would do well.
  2. Banana Republic. Recently a few branches have opened in the UK, but the online store serves the rest of the country where there are no stores. There is obviously more choice in the US with a store in nearly every mall, and the prices are much better and reasonable. The ambience of the stores in the US is more relaxed compared to the UK, where the brand is new and getting established and is seen as more exclusive than a chain.
  3. Dollar Tree. I love and miss this store, but branches do vary. I was fortunate to live close to some good ones that had a large range of items and also stocked frozen food. Some items were hit or miss, but generally I could find all my basics for the house here, snacks, and some bargain branded pantry staples.
  4. Marshalls. This is another bargain store I would always spend time in browsing, but again I was lucky to find some excellent buys. I bought a pair of Merrells for $35, a king sized Ralph Lauren fleece blanket (in New York) for $25, and way too many pairs of black yoga pants for under $10.
  5. Trader Joe’s. A favorite of many people because of the quality and prices. As a vegetarian it served me well, and it was the only place that sold buttery croissants that I liked. They also have a great wine selection, and their own brands of snacks are healthy and good value. It ticks all the boxes; I just needed one to be closer to where I lived.
  6. Christmas Tree Shops. I used to get the flyer through my door and in the papers all of the time and when I finally went to one I loved it. Bargains and ideas for the home galore and a wonderful selection of international foods. It’s a place you know you will always get good value, and don’t have to think about finding it cheaper elsewhere.
  7. Sephora. Believe it or not there isn’t a Sephora in the UK. The closest is in France (and they are fun too), but the US website ships to the UK. I prefer to browse in the stores, without anyone asking if I need any help, after checking the website for any specials.
  8. Abercrombie & Fitch. Some people see this as a preppy brand, but I have some classic favorites from this store, and they do very comfortable underwear. Comfort is king, and the t-shirts are pre-washed for that precisely. I actually buy the men’s versions, as they are better quality (more durable cotton), longer in the body and also in the leg. When my cargos got too many holes, it was a sad day and trying to replace them with another version, well that search continues.
  9. Panera. Besides the amazingly fresh bakery items, I like the healthy menu options, and that you can eat in casually or takeout. The soufflés and croissants are excellent, but they do sell out fast. They offer some well-priced meal deals, and the portions are generous, so good value for your buck.
  10. Department stores. I have a few favorites—Barneys New York, Nordstrom, Neiman Marcus, Bloomingdales, and Bergdorf Goodman. I prefer to shop alone in these places, and browse. While they can be seen as old fashioned, they still are wonderful places to find all you need under one roof.
Leave a Reply

